Дело № 72508/13
Дата вынесения решения: 14 июня 2016 г.

21 мая 2013 года заявитель, г-н Иване Мерабишвили (бывший премьер-министр Грузии и генеральный секретарь оппозиционной партии «Единое национальное движение»), был арестован по подозрению в причастности к подкупу голосов, присвоению чужого имущества, нарушению полномочий и нарушение неприкосновенности чужого жилища. Ходатайство заявителя о пересмотре обоснованности его предварительного заключения было отклонено 25 сентября 2013 года. Он находился под стражей до суда до 17 февраля 2014 года, когда он был приговорен к пяти годам лишения свободы.

Г-н Мерабишвили оспорил законность и разумность своего предварительного заключения по ст. 5 (1) и 5 (3) ЕКПЧ. Он также жаловался по ст. 5 (4) ЕСПЧ, что национальный суд не провел надлежащего судебного рассмотрения его ходатайства об освобождении из-под стражи, не указав причины своего решения от 25 сентября 2013 года.

Заявитель также утверждал, что возбуждение против него уголовного дела и его предварительное заключение послужили цели исключения его из политической жизни страны в нарушение ст. 18 в сочетании со ст. 5 (1) ЕКПЧ. Интересы заявителя представляли EHRAC и г-н Отар Кахидзе, юрист из Тбилиси.

Прочтите полное описание случая в Зимнем бюллетене 2016 года.

Published: 14 Jun 2016 | By Emil Sahakyan

Merabishvili v Georgia

Case Summary

Case No. 72508/13
Judgment date: 14 June 2016

On 21 May 2013, the applicant, Mr Ivane Merabishvili (former Georgian Prime Minister and the Secretary General of the opposition United National Movement Party), was arrested on suspicion of involvement in vote-buying, misappropriation of another person’s property, breach of authority and breach of inviolability of another person’s home. The applicant’s request to review the reasonableness of his pre-trial detention was rejected on 25 September 2013. He was kept under pre-trial detention until 17 February 2014, when he was sentenced to five years’ imprisonment.

Mr Merabishvili challenged the lawfulness and reasonableness of his pre-trial detention under Arts. 5(1) and 5(3) ECHR. He also complained under Art. 5(4) ECHR that the domestic court had failed to conduct a proper judicial review of his request for release from detention by withholding reasons for its decision of 25 September 2013.

The applicant further claimed that the initiation of the criminal proceedings against him and his pre-trial detention served the purpose of excluding him from the political life of the country in violation of Art. 18 in conjunction with Art. 5(1) ECHR. The applicant was represented by EHRAC and Mr Otar Kakhidze, a lawyer based in Tbilisi.

Read the full case summary in the Winter 2016 Bulletin.